History of sea-silk

The Roman Empire at the time of its greatest extent in the 3rd c. AD.       Source
The Roman Empire at the time of its greatest extent in the 3rd c. AD. Source
Precious textiles were traded at all times and used as gifts. Already in the earliest texts carved in Hittite cuneiform on clay tablets, on papyri in Egyptian hieroglyphs, or Greek and Latin in stone: everywhere we find terms for textiles of all kinds. But it is often difficult to know which term is used for a specific material (Heinhold-Krahmer 2005, Michel & Nosch 2010). Often this is possible to discern only from context.

Since the 15th century the sources become more extensive. Dictionaries and encyclopaedias, inventory and gift lists, trade, goods and customs directories, auction and sales catalogues: Here we find references to the use of certain words and terms and their changes of meaning over the centuries.

The Internet offers new ways to browse through old tomes and archives and to search directly for specific terms. The following pages are therefore just a snapshot – they will be continuously supplemented and corrected if need be. Details about such updates can be found under News.

Geschichte

Das Römische Reich zur Zeit seiner grössten Ausdehnung im 3. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Quelle
Das Römische Reich zur Zeit seiner grössten Ausdehnung im 3. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Quelle
Kostbare Textilien wurden zu allen Zeiten gehandelt und als Geschenke verwendet. Bereits in frühesten Texten, in hethitischer Keilschrift auf Tontafeln, in ägyptischen Hieroglyphen auf Papyrus, in Griechisch und Latein in Stein gemeisselt: Überall finden wir Begriffe für Textilien aller Art. Allerdings ist es oft schwierig, diese Begriffe eindeutig einem bestimmten Material zuzuordnen (Heinhold-Krahmer 2005, Michel & Nosch 2010). Oft ist dies nur im Kontext möglich.

Seit dem 15. Jahrhundert wird das Quellenmaterial umfangreicher. Wörterbücher und Enzyklopädien, Inventar- und Geschenklisten, Handels-, Waren- und Zollverzeichnisse, Auktions- und Verkaufskataloge: Hier finden sich Hinweise auf die Verwendung bestimmter Begriffe und Bezeichnungen und deren Veränderungen im Laufe der Jahrhunderte.


Das Internet eröffnet völlig neue Möglichkeiten, in alten Folianten und Archiven zu stöbern und direkt nach Begriffen zu suchen. Die folgenden Seiten sind also nur eine Momentaufnahme – sie sollen laufend ergänzt und wenn nötig auch korrigiert werden. Hinweise darauf finden Sie jeweils unter Aktuell.